Enter the running workout

6 Nov

rock creek running pathSo, remember how I was flirting with Crossfit? Well, after one intro class and a little reflection, I realized that:

  1. I don’t want to spend $200 a month on getting fit.
  2. I might not want to spend every lunch hour in the gym trying to get my money’s worth.
  3. I want to spend more time outdoors than indoors, particularly on sunny days.
  4. I need variety or I get bored.

Then I found this place that offers weight training workouts (don’t call it Crossfit) and outdoor running workouts (including weekend runs on park trails around the city) plus yoga (more like yoga-for-athletes than spiritual awakening-type yoga, but still).

It’s not right around the corner from my office, but I think it’s close enough. And I can pay as I go, so I’m not locked into (or inside) a gym. And I can still check out these yoga hikes I’ve been flirting with, and squeeze in my more spiritual-style yoga classes on down (dog) days.

I talk a mean game; now I just have to lace up my shoes and start sweating–wish me luck!

Related posts

One Response to “Enter the running workout”

  1. Laura November 8, 2013 at 9:54 pm #

    It’s the best thing to do and so much older than cross fit!

What do you think?

